TOBACCO

Ghostly International

Bio

TOBACCO can't have nice things. On his third album, the Pennsylvania snake-synth-charmer deepens his approach to aural depravity. Ultima II Massage widens a jagged swath through the dude's own weird catalog, each disparate track damaged to the point of contributing to some sort of greater, lurching Frankenstein-like state. "I spent a lot of time breaking it in all the right places," says TOBACCO. "It ends up making the whole thing breathe - sometimes gasp for air. It feels more alive." Immediately after finishing 2010's Maniac Meat, he went to work on the beat-addled series begun with Fucked Up Friends in 2008. There were notable breaks en route to now - a surprising commission to remix White Zombie's "Thunder Kiss '65," a new Black Moth Super Rainbow record (Cobra Juicy), and producing Demon Queen's Exorcise Tape with vocalist Zackey Force Funk - but he saved the worst for last, amassing the most misanthropic material for Ultima. To wit, SPIN dubbed early share "Lipstick Destroyer" a "junkyard takedown of Daft Punk's beloved, pristine electro." Read More...

Current Tours

Date Venue City State With Tickets
Tue 09/13/16 Brooklyn Bowl Brooklyn NY The Stargazer Lilies
Wed 09/28/16 Grog Shop Cleveland Heights OH High Tides, Odonis Odonis, TBA Buy
Thu 09/29/16 The Shelter Detroit MI High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Fri 09/30/16 Lincoln Hall Chicago IL High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Sat 10/01/16 Mad Planet Milwaukee WI High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Mon 10/03/16 Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis MN High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Tue 10/04/16 The Aquarium (Dempseys Upstairs) Fargo ND High Tides Buy
Fri 10/07/16 The Crocodile Seattle WA High Tides, Odonis Odonis, TBA Buy
Sat 10/08/16 Wonder Ballroom Portland OR High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Tue 10/11/16 The Chapel San Francisco CA High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Thu 10/13/16 Echoplex Los Angeles CA High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Fri 10/14/16 Constellation Room Santa Ana CA High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Sat 10/15/16 Casbah San Diego CA High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Sun 10/16/16 The Crescent Ballroom Phoenix AZ High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Tue 10/18/16 Larimer Lounge Denver CO High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Thu 10/20/16 Zanzabar Louisville KY High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Fri 10/21/16 The Hi-Fi Indianapolis IN High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Sat 10/22/16 Rumba Cafe Columbus OH High Tides, Odonis Odonis Buy
Tue 11/01/16 Brooklyn Bowl Brooklyn NY