TOBACCO

Ghostly International

Bio

TOBACCO can't have nice things. On his third album, the Pennsylvania snake-synth-charmer deepens his approach to aural depravity. Ultima II Massage widens a jagged swath through the dude's own weird catalog, each disparate track damaged to the point of contributing to some sort of greater, lurching Frankenstein-like state. "I spent a lot of time breaking it in all the right places," says TOBACCO. "It ends up making the whole thing breathe - sometimes gasp for air. It feels more alive." Immediately after finishing 2010's Maniac Meat, he went to work on the beat-addled series begun with Fucked Up Friends in 2008. There were notable breaks en route to now - a surprising commission to remix White Zombie's "Thunder Kiss '65," a new Black Moth Super Rainbow record (Cobra Juicy), and producing Demon Queen's Exorcise Tape with vocalist Zackey Force Funk - but he saved the worst for last, amassing the most misanthropic material for Ultima. To wit, SPIN dubbed early share "Lipstick Destroyer" a "junkyard takedown of Daft Punk's beloved, pristine electro." Read More...

Current Tours

Date Venue City State With Tickets
Wed 09/28/16 Grog Shop Cleveland Heights OH
Thu 09/29/16 The Shelter Detroit MI
Fri 09/30/16 Lincoln Hall Chicago IL
Sat 10/01/16 Mad Planet Milwaukee WI
Mon 10/03/16 Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis MN
Fri 10/07/16 The Crocodile Seattle WA
Sat 10/08/16 Wonder Ballroom Portland OR
Tue 10/11/16 The Chapel San Francisco CA
Thu 10/13/16 Echoplex Los Angeles CA
Fri 10/14/16 Constellation Room Santa Ana CA
Sat 10/15/16 Casbah San Diego CA
Sun 10/16/16 The Crescent Ballroom Phoenix AZ
Tue 10/18/16 Larimer Lounge Denver CO
Thu 10/20/16 Zanzabar Louisville KY
Fri 10/21/16 The Hi-Fi Indianapolis IN
Sat 10/22/16 Rumba Cafe Columbus OH